Well, I survived day one at Drum! Of course the students aren't going to show their true colors yet ,but in general I think I have a great set of students. The students I've been "warned" about have problems like "disorganization" and "chattiness." That is much different than the problems I had last year. I don't sense any malice or total apathy from the students, and a lot of them are very dedicated to learning. I am very hopeful for this year.

I was nervous, but I think I always will be no matter how many years I've been teaching. I can tell a difference between year 1 and year 2. I think part of it is I feel more "a part" of the school since I've been around for a few months rather than starting my first day.

I truly feel like a contributing member to my partner teacher, math/science department, and my 7th grade team. I am hopeful that I can improve their science curriculum and make a difference there.

Originally I was set to teach 2 sections of Pre-Algebra (rather than 1 of each course offered), but some changes were made and I offered to teach one of each. This was decided yesterday and while it will mean more work it almost makes things simpler in terms of what students I have. It also makes me look good once again, which helps.

I'm sure I will have bad days and days where the kids seem like little terrors, but I think I've got a great bunch. I look forward to actually teaching this year.

I'll keep you posted! Thanks for reading!
Courtney
9/2/2010 01:15:43 pm

I'm so glad you are loving Drum and your year is off to a great start. That is great news about your math classes. That will make it easier with students. Looking forward to hearing more about it. Let me know if you ever want to meet up. Have a great 4 day weekend!

Reply



Leave a Reply.