Recently I started reading a great blog called, Be More With Less. I'm really enjoying all the mini-mission challenges and the call to simplify your life.

I first ran across it when someone on my facebook shared this post about Being Busy. I have always shared this sentiment. I have never understood why it seems "cool" to be double-booked, constantly running around, and flaking out on plans. While my nature isn't to be super active, I also make the conscious decision to have both down time and alone time. I don't see the worth in always having somewhere to be. Yes, it makes you look like you have a booming social life, but are you truly thriving on being swamped? Because the people that I see are often doing this to themselves and talk about it like it's not their choice. We have all been around those people who only talk about how stressed out they are. Always. While I am guilty of having a conversation similar to this one, I try hard to not be this person. It's not cheery and it's not fun to be around. AND, there are solutions.

Some obligations in life really are inescapable and there are times when I feel overwhelmed with my to-do list. That's why I savor the times when I'm not tied down by anything. I could get more philosophical than I'd like here, talking about how our generation is rushing through life and needs to straighten out their priorities, and how the ever-increasing presence of technology is quickly making us more detached, contrary to its intentions of making us more "connected." But I will stop there. Again, I am guilty of buying too much, being on the computer too much, wanting the next new thing without enjoying what I have. But, I also take time to step back and look at how good I have it. I think John and I say to each other at least once a day that we have a great life.

Having down time is such a stress reliever, and it also leaves you open to be more spontaneous. I am also a huge advocate for being alone sometimes. I lived alone for 2 years and I couldn't have been happier during that time. I learned what my own habits are, what I enjoy, and was able to truly relax. Having roommates or people around me all the time was tiring - I had to be "on" - constantly entertaining, constantly acting interested, constantly being social. I love my social time, but having a break is important so as not to lose who you are.

The blog also talks about not completely abandoning all that is materialistic, but just simplifying what we surround ourselves with. John and I never want a crowded, clutter house because it really does up the anxiety. And that's exactly what the blog talks about. Living with less could mean anything. We have a house that is large for 2 people but that doesn't mean we have to fill it up.

I am inspired to continue our practice of being fairly low-maintenance. There is a mini-mission to get rid of excess make-up, and I have also just gotten what I "need." My makeup bag, which was a free little bag from Delta airlines (ha!) consists of:
  • 1 bottle foundation (a new step in my makeup routine)
  • 1 powder
  • 1 blush
  • 1 bronzer
  • 1 eyeliner
  • 1 eyeshadow
  • 1 mascara
  • tweezers
  • chapstick
There is another mission to live with only 33 pieces of clothing for 3 months (the popular 333 challenge which started in October and is popping up all over the place). I'm not ready to quite take THAT step, even though I really don't have that many clothes anyway, but I do regularly donate clothes and keep my closet under control. I thought about this as I wandered through Target today, asking myself "Do I really want to spend my money on this right now?" whenever I saw something I liked. I ask myself this regularly, since John and I have financial goals, but I am far from perfect.

Anyway, those are my current thoughts. Being more with less. Does that mean sacrifice design and discard all non-functional items? No. It just means keeping things in perspective. Does it mean never making plans or complaining about stress? No. It just means making conscious decisions about how you want to spend your life.


And because I always enjoy a little irony, I thought I'd mention that we just bought a new truck last night. Did we absolutely NEED a new vehicle? No, but John's Toyota Echo has seen better days and does not fit at all with our lifestyle (not to mention how much we like to be safe). We got a great deal and will have this car for a long time. Plus, it'll be easier to simplify our house when we have a car that can haul away everything!

Picture
Old and Busted (not our actual car, but exactly like this -- tiny!)
Picture
New Hotness (2010 Frontier Crew Cab in Night Armour)



Leave a Reply.