Paint is all the rage in our house right now (read: "Summer Painting Extravaganze 2010"). So here is a mostly-picture post about just that.

Our Craft Room (turned Baby Room in the FAR future - so I don't have to repaint):
Picture
Can't remember the name of the left color, but too bright - went with Martha Stewart Sea Glass (right)
Picture
hard to see, but the walls are all blackened - gross!
Picture
trim done - using mostly the tester bottle!
Picture
finished color - kind of bright at first, but good for a craft room. Can be used for a boy or girl baby room, too, so I'll never have to re-paint! Shown with canvas I made years ago


Here's my opinion on Paint Brands so far (keep in mind, I am still not willing to shell out $50 per gallon on Ben Moore or Sherwin Williams - I am convinced there is something more cost-effective.

Dutch Boy Refresh - DO NOT USE. Took me 3 gallons to do the guest room + closet. When I painted over places to cover spots, other spots were uncovered. STILL needs touch up but I refuse to do because that involves buying more of their product...

Behr - Satisfactory (used "Moon Shine" to paint closets white - no repainting necessary)

Martha Stewart (made by Glidden) - Recommended. Found at Home Depot. $25/gallon. Very reasonable price with GREAT coverage (I only trimmed once and had to do VERY little touch-up in the craft room). Since we used Glidden for our main color in the house (Olivewood), and I am happy with the quality, we will only be using Martha Stewart and Glidden from here on out.
Picture
Oh Martha. You never cease to impress. I promise you my loyalty.
I'm going to be painting our guest bath, laundry room, and bonus room upstairs all the same color. I want it to be an airy-neutral color to keep the upstairs from looking like a funhouse. These are the colors I have tested so far:
Picture
L to R: MS Fossil, MS Sharkey Gray, Glidden Forest Khaki, Glidden Natural Wicker
Picture
Bathroom with no natural light, L to R: MS Fossil, MS Sharkey Gray, Glidden Forest Khaki, Glidden Natural Wicker
Picture
Bonus Room with natural light, L to R: MS Sharkey Gray, Glidden Forest Khaki, Glidden Natural Wicker, MS Fossil
Sorry they're in a different order every time. What do you think?
Momma
7/21/2010 02:43:56 pm

What the heck!? The colors in the bathroom look so different from the ones in the bonus room. I can't wait to see what you decide.

Reply
Lauren
7/22/2010 12:51:18 am

Yeah they do look really different! Sharkey Gray looked purplish in the bathroom lighting. And that Sea Glass color you used in the craft room, I think I saw that color in Better Homes & Gardens or something, I rememeber the name. Lookin good! How's that closet coming??

Reply
7/22/2010 01:02:46 am

Reply
7/22/2010 01:04:23 am

I love the color of your craft room!

Reply



Leave a Reply.