It has been a long tradition for John and I to try the local pizza place anywhere we go. We are pizza monsters! In fact, only a few months into dating we were shameless enough to have a pizza-eating contest in Bellingham. John is 100 pounds bigger than I am but he only beat me by 1/2 a slice!! I'm sure that's not anything most women would be proud of, but I am.

We always get Black Olive Pizzas. I am very picky and don't like many toppings, and (I think) John has grown to love them as well. This has given us a good base to make comparisons between pizzas.

Last night we went to a pizza place in Puyallup since we just moved to the area. As we waited for our food John brought up the idea that we should come up with a pizza scale since we've become somewhat of connoisseurs of this Italian-turned-American favorite. He laughed when I said I should put it on my blog...

Anyway, we came up with categories and a scale. Each of the 4 categories (crust, toppings, taste, and atmosphere/price) would be scored from 1-5 Olives individually and would be averaged out for an Overall Score. This is just a fun little hobby for us since we do it anyway when we go out and I share it just in case there are any pizza-craving readers who live in the area.

I was hoping we could retroactively rate some of our other favorites from Washington, Oregon, and Hawaii, but John feels strongly that he needs to be in the moment to give a fair rating.

Without further ado, here is our first rating:

Trackside Pizza, Puyallup, WA, rated May 19, 2010
Picture
Comments: The pizza crust was hand-tossed and therefore thin. It left a burnt flavor in our mouths. While there was a sufficient number of black olives present, the amount of cheese left something to be desired. I would have preferred a higher cheese-to-sauce ratio. The atmosphere was clean, casual, and friendly. It's right by the busy train tracks so it did get loud at times, but that's part of the charm. I don't think either of us would particularly go back, but then again we didn't have leftovers. :)
Lauren
5/20/2010 02:46:21 pm

HAHA. Nice Olive Meter. I'm gathering from the olive data that overall John finds the pizza rather poor but cheap, while Lindsay finds it decent though pricier (or maybe it was the pleasant atmosphere that got it an extra olive from you). I appreciate the review. I don't think I'll be visiting Trackside Pizza unless I'm desperate.

Reply



Leave a Reply.