We're FINALLY putting a closet system into our master closet. Since our house was bank-owned, the previous owners removed a lot of stuff before they were evicted/left. One thing they took that I didn't grasp the gravity of was ALL wire shelving in every closet (except for 1). Lights, doors, faucets, outlets were all replaced per our agreement when we bought, but shelving wasn't. Who knew how much we needed shelves? We have a pantry, shelves in 1 office closet, and 1 entry closet shelf with a bar along it, which is great. However, all of our clothes have still been laid out in the bonus room. I painted the closet last week after spackling all the holes the previous shelves had left. John had been looking forward to planning out the closet, but he's been so busy that he finally let me have a go with it.

We're using the ClosetMaid Selectives system. Both for price and easy installation. They are not wall-mounted but free-standing. We plan on adding wall brackets for extra support, though. Our closet is about 12'x6' so we're adding one long system along the back wall and a few things to the side. We can always add more later.

We're getting a 5-10' starter kit, which has a 25" 6-shelf console in the middle. It also has 3 rods that I will adjust to 47". I'll add an extra rod to the side that only has one. This way, we each have 2 47" rods (one high, one low), which is great. I will get the center console and will be adding a small drawer for jewelry, 2 large drawers for me unmentionables, and perhaps a basket. The rest will be shelving. Then we will add 2 3-shelf add ons to the other side of the rods and that will be John's console, with the same fixin's. We will also be getting a few 31" shelves for shoes.

We will complete the closet with 3-4 stylish hampers to sort our laundry. Overall I'm very excited. My mom and I are leaving shortly (I need her cr-v, and companionship) and I hope that I can do most or all of the assembly myself. What a great day!
Picture
Starter Kit
Picture
2 of these for John's side
Picture
2 shoe racks
Picture
2 of these for each of us
I'll let you know how it goes!
Lauren
7/21/2010 05:39:35 am

Yay! You will finally have somewhere to put your clothes other than the floor! I don't know how you decided on your configuration though. So many options, I could never decide. I would probably end up with the most impractical thing ever, like 50 cubbies and a 6 in hanger bar.

Reply
10/4/2012 01:50:44 am

This is hilarious

Reply



Leave a Reply.