Happy Wednesday! My spring break just seems to be flying by, as any break always does. I am spending this time (in this order): relaxing, planning the decor for our new house, and packing. To clarify, that would be least to most productive. Isn't that what breaks are for, though?

John seems to be slightly disappointed that more hasn't gotten done around the house, but laundry can always wait a little longer... :) Before becoming a teacher I thought of it as somewhat of an easy job. Now, I see why we have so many breaks. It's not for the kids, it's for the teachers.

I have recently come to the realization that I really do work in an inner-city middle school. The challenges that I face everyday with my 8th graders are ones that I was never prepared for in my college courses. This school year has been THE most taxing experience of my life thus far. I cannot describe the toll it has taken on me, and this break came just in time. I have a GREAT science department, and the head of the department has been a lifesaver. When I got hired the night before school started he gave me plans for the first day of school then told me to go have a beer and relax before it all began. I had no idea what I was in for.

These kids had a science teacher last year who (in a way, understandably) lost control of them. He quit after Winter Break and they had substitutes the rest of the year. This is a tough group of students to begin with, but on top of that they came in to science thinking it was a joke, the "goof-off class." I have made SO many mistakes in trying to figure out how to handle them. But am I getting through it? Yes. Did I quit yet? No. And now I only have 1 more quarter to go. I feel proud, even though I'm constantly beating myself up for not being on par with the seasoned teachers.

Anyway, there's a little history on my career. I CANNOT wait until next year when I can start fresh (assuming I don't get hired). AND! Since we are moving my commute will go from 1+hours to ~35 minutes. Heaven! The commute has taken a considerable toll as well (financially and p



Leave a Reply.